Qwen-Image-3.0
| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Developer | Qwen team, Alibaba |
| Announced | July 21, 2026 [1] |
| Type | Text-to-image foundation model with image editing |
| Series | Qwen-Image, third generation |
| API model IDs | qwen-image-3.0-pro (Pro), qwen-image-3.0 (Standard) [17][18] |
| Claimed input length | Up to 4,500 tokens |
| Claimed language coverage | Native text rendering in 12 languages |
| Parameters | Not disclosed (as of September 23, 2026) [17][24] |
| Weights | Not released (as of September 23, 2026) [22][23] |
| License | None published (as of September 23, 2026) [1][22][23] |
| Access | Qwen Chat; Qwen AI platform and Alibaba Cloud Model Studio API (invite-only at launch, opened to all users on August 5, 2026); OpenArt third-party hosted access from August 11, 2026 [2][15][17][20][21][27] |
Qwen-Image-3.0 is a text-to-image foundation model announced by Alibaba's Qwen team on July 21, 2026, as the third generation of the Qwen-Image series [1][2][15]. The Qwen team organized the release around the single keyword "Real" (实), broken into three claimed strengths: "Rich Content" (prompts up to 4,500 tokens that yield dense multi-panel layouts such as newspapers, storyboards, and exam papers), "Authentic Details" (legible text down to 10 pixels, plus fine textures like pores and hair strands), and "Deep Knowledge" (native text rendering in 12 languages, simulation of web, game, and livestream interfaces, and use of world knowledge) [1][2]. Unlike the original 2025 Qwen-Image, which shipped its weights under the Apache 2.0 license with a same-day technical report, Qwen-Image-3.0 launched as a hosted model only: no weights, license, parameter count, benchmark table, or technical report accompanied the announcement [3][4]. It is sold through Alibaba's APIs in two editions, a flagship Pro model and a faster Standard model, and was opened to all users of Alibaba's Qwen AI platform on August 5, 2026 [18][27]. As of September 23, 2026, it still had no public weights or technical report, while the Qwen team had meanwhile released the smaller open-weight Qwen-Image-2.1 [22][23][24].
Background: the Qwen-Image series
The Qwen-Image line began in August 2025 as an open-weight image generation model. The original release was a roughly 20-billion-parameter multimodal diffusion transformer with an arXiv technical report, distributed on Hugging Face and ModelScope under Apache 2.0, and it became known above all for rendering accurate Chinese and English text inside images [5][6][7]. A string of open-weight follow-ups extended it through 2025: the Qwen-Image-Edit editing models (August and September 2025), the Qwen-Image-Layered decomposition model and Qwen-Image-Edit-2511 (December 2025), and an improved base model, Qwen-Image-2512 (December 2025), all under Apache 2.0 [7][8][9].
The series changed course in February 2026 with Qwen-Image-2.0, a "next-generation foundational image generation model" that unified generation and editing in one system, accepted instructions of about 1,000 tokens, supported native 2K output, and used what the team described as a lighter architecture with faster inference than its predecessor [10]. Qwen-Image-2.0 was offered through Qwen Chat and Alibaba Cloud's Model Studio API rather than as open weights, and the team evaluated it by blind testing on AI Arena [10][18][22][23]. Unlike 3.0 so far, Qwen-Image-2.0 later received an arXiv technical report (May 2026), which describes it as coupling a Qwen3-VL condition encoder with a multimodal diffusion transformer [26]. Qwen-Image-3.0 continues the hosted-only distribution of 2.0 [3][4].
The Qwen team summarizes the generations by keyword: 1.0 stood for "Precision," 2.0 for "Precision, Variety, Completeness, Beauty, and Authenticity," and 3.0 for "Real," which the team glosses as moving image generation "from 'good-looking' to 'useful'" so that it works as "a truly deployable productivity tool" [1].
| Release | Date | Distribution | License |
|---|---|---|---|
| Qwen-Image (1.0) | August 4, 2025 | Open weights (Hugging Face, ModelScope) | Apache 2.0 [5][7] |
| Qwen-Image-Edit | August 18, 2025 | Open weights | Apache 2.0 [8] |
| Qwen-Image-Edit-2509 | September 2025 | Open weights | Apache 2.0 [8] |
| Qwen-Image-Layered / Edit-2511 | December 2025 | Open weights | Apache 2.0 [8] |
| Qwen-Image-2512 | December 2025 | Open weights | Apache 2.0 [9] |
| Qwen-Image-2.0 | February 2026 | Hosted only (Qwen Chat, API) | None published [10][22] |
| Qwen-Image-3.0 | July 21, 2026 | Hosted only (Qwen Chat, API) | None published [1][3] |
| Qwen-Image-2.1 | September 20, 2026 | Open weights (Hugging Face, ModelScope) | Qwen Research License (non-commercial) [24][25] |
Claimed capabilities
All capability claims below come from the Qwen team's launch post, its Chinese-language announcement, and Alibaba Cloud's model descriptions. As of September 23, 2026, the company had published no technical report against which to check them; its only published quantitative result for the model is a single overall score in a benchmark chart released with Qwen-Image-2.1 (see below). Press coverage noted that the launch demonstrations are outputs Alibaba itself selected [1][2][3][22][23][24].
Rich content
Qwen-Image-3.0 raises the maximum instruction length to 4,500 tokens, from roughly 1,000 tokens in Qwen-Image-2.0, which the team says lets the model render information-dense layouts such as newspaper pages, comic storyboards, and exam papers in a single pass [1][3][10]. The flagship demonstration is a 3x3 grid of nine unrelated infographics (covering topics from the Sylow theorems of group theory to a parasitology explainer and a bank internal-control chart) generated as one image from a 3,700-token prompt [1][2]. A second demonstration nests interfaces inside one another: a VS Code window containing a Qwen Chat screen, which contains a messaging-app conversation, which contains a coffee poster, with each layer keeping its own interface style [1][2].
Authentic details
The team claims precise rendering of text as small as 10 pixels, shown through a whale-shark infographic, a full page of an algebraic-geometry paper with LaTeX formula derivations, and a newspaper page with simulated print texture [1]. Editing demonstrations include overlaying handwritten-style red annotations on a book page and restoring a damaged ink-wash painting while matching the original brushwork [1]. Portrait examples emphasize pores, hair strands, and skin texture that the team describes as approaching photographic realism [1][2].
Deep knowledge
The model is said to render text natively in 12 languages (demonstrations show Japanese, Korean, and Spanish) and more than 100 artistic styles, and to imitate mainstream web, game, and livestream interfaces [1][2]. The launch post, in both its English and Chinese versions, speaks only of "multiple fonts"; Chinese press reports of the launch and Alibaba's Model Studio release notes put the figure at more than 20 fonts [1][2][16][19]. The team also states the hosted model can retrieve current information from the internet, demonstrated by generating a weather-forecast graphic for Hangzhou for a specific date, and can draw on knowledge of real figures, shown by placing the painters Qi Baishi and Vincent van Gogh in a livestream-room scene [1].
Availability
| Date (2026) | Event |
|---|---|
| July 20 | Model Studio release notes list qwen-image-3.0-pro in the China (Beijing) and Singapore regions [19] |
| July 21 | Launch; API opened for invitational testing on Alibaba Cloud Bailian and the Qwen AI platform [1][2] |
| July 22 | Qwen's X announcement links the text-to-image mode of Qwen Chat [15] |
| August 4 | Release notes add the faster Standard model, qwen-image-3.0 [19] |
| August 5 | Alibaba says the model is open to all users of the Qwen AI platform, with Pro and Standard APIs [27][28] |
| August 6 | Release notes list qwen-image-3.0-pro in the Frankfurt, Tokyo, and Hong Kong regions [19] |
| August 11 | OpenArt announces third-party hosted access [20] |
At launch, the official announcement said API access was open for invitational testing on Alibaba Cloud's Bailian platform and the Qwen AI platform, with Qwen Studio and the Qwen mobile app to offer free access later [2]. The Decoder likewise described access as invite-only API access [14]. Qwen's announcement on X linked to the text-to-image mode of Qwen Chat, and Decrypt reported the model live in chat.qwen.ai with API pricing not yet announced [4][15].
On August 5, 2026, Alibaba Cloud announced that Qwen-Image-3.0 was officially available on the Qwen AI platform and open to all users, with the flagship Qwen-Image-3.0-Pro and a Qwen-Image-3.0-Standard edition both offered through the API, text-to-image pricing starting at 0.18 yuan per image, and overseas access through Qwen Cloud [27][28]. The same announcement said Qwen Studio and the Qwen app would come online for free use soon [28]. Alibaba's Model Studio release notes describe qwen-image-3.0-pro in the same terms as the launch post and present qwen-image-3.0 as a "Standard" version aimed at lower-cost batch output of posters, web pages, and interfaces [19].
Alibaba Cloud's international API documentation described more restricted access for several more weeks. Its Qwen-Image-3.0 API reference, dated July 20, still stated in an August 21, 2026 capture that the model was "currently in limited preview" and required an application through the Model Gallery [17]. The revision dated September 22, 2026 no longer carries that notice. It documents both model IDs for text-to-image generation and for editing with one to three reference images, output between 512x512 and 2048x2048 total pixels at aspect ratios from 1:8 to 8:1, up to six images per request, a recommended prompt length of at most 4,500 tokens, a prompt-rewriting step and a "thinking" mode, both optional and both on by default, and an OpenAI-compatible endpoint alongside Alibaba's DashScope protocol, with endpoints in Singapore, US (Virginia), China (Beijing), China (Hong Kong), Germany (Frankfurt), and Japan (Tokyo) [17].
| Model ID | Output image, 1K | Output image, 2K | Input image |
|---|---|---|---|
qwen-image-3.0-pro (Singapore) | $0.04 | $0.075 | $0.003 |
qwen-image-3.0 (Singapore) | $0.03 | $0.03 | $0.003 |
qwen-image-3.0-pro (Qwen AI platform, China) | 0.25 yuan | 0.5 yuan | 0.02 yuan |
Prices are per image as listed on September 23, 2026 [29][30].
OpenArt announced third-party hosted access on August 11, 2026, and the Qwen account directed users to OpenArt the next day [20][21]. This integration was separate from Qwen Chat and Alibaba Cloud's API. Neither post specified which Alibaba model ID OpenArt served, access limits, pricing, or provider terms, and neither changes the absence of downloadable weights or a license [20][21].
Benchmarks and leaderboard results
The launch post contains no benchmark table, and no Qwen-Image-3.0 technical report had been published as of September 23, 2026 [1][3][22][23]. The available quantitative evidence consists of third-party arenas and one chart from Qwen itself.
| Leaderboard | Date | Entry | Rank | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LMArena Text-to-Image | August 4, 2026 update | qwen-image-3.0-pro | 5th of 75 (preliminary, 2,801 votes) | 1263 [11] |
| LMArena Text-to-Image | September 21, 2026 update | qwen-image-3.0-pro | 11th of 79 (10,917 votes) | 1254 [31] |
| Artificial Analysis Text to Image | Retrieved September 23, 2026 | Qwen-Image-3.0-Pro | 14th | Elo 1088 [32] |
| Artificial Analysis Text to Image | Retrieved September 23, 2026 | Qwen-Image-3.0 | 16th | Elo 1078 [32] |
| Qwen-Image-Bench (Qwen's own chart) | September 20, 2026 | Qwen Image 3 Pro | 4th of 29 | 62.36 [24] |
On LMArena's Text-to-Image leaderboard, as of the board's August 4, 2026 update, "qwen-image-3.0-pro" ranked 5th of 75 models with an Arena score of about 1263 from 2,801 votes, behind gpt-image-2 (medium) at about 1380, reve-2.1, muse-image, and reve-2.0, and just ahead of the web-search variant of gemini-3.1-flash-image (Nano Banana 2) and Seedream 5.0 Pro [11]. The entry was marked preliminary and had a wide confidence range (rank 4 to 9), and the prior flagship, qwen-image-2.0-pro-2026-06-22, ranked 15th at about 1191 [11]. Alibaba's August 5 announcement cited this board, saying the model ranked first among Chinese models [28]. With more votes and new entrants, the model had dropped to 11th of 79 by the September 21, 2026 update (score 1254, rank range 9 to 14), behind OpenAI's GPT Image 2.5 variants, gpt-image-2, Microsoft's mai-image-2.6, and SpaceXAI's grok-imagine-image-2.0, among others. The same update listed the new open-weight qwen-image-2.1 in 17th place with a preliminary score of 1228 [31].
On Artificial Analysis's Text to Image leaderboard, retrieved September 23, 2026, Qwen-Image-3.0-Pro ranked 14th with an Elo of 1088 and the Standard Qwen-Image-3.0 ranked 16th at 1078, the two highest-placed Alibaba entries on that board. The site listed their API prices as $40 and $30 per 1,000 images [32].
For context, the Qwen team's own creator-centric benchmark, Qwen-Image-Bench, published in May 2026 with an accompanying paper, placed the previous flagship Qwen Image 2.0 Pro 5th of 18 models (overall score 57.84), behind GPT Image 2 (64.69), Nano Banana 2.0, GPT Image 1.5, and Nano Banana Pro, and ahead of Seedream 5.0 and FLUX 2 Max [12][13]. That published leaderboard still lists only the original 18 models [12]. The comparison chart Qwen published with Qwen-Image-2.1 on September 20, 2026, lists "Qwen Image 3 Pro" at 62.36, fourth of 29 models, behind GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst (67.01), GPT Image 2 (64.69), and Grok Imagine 2.0 (63.47), and ahead of Qwen-Image-2.1 (60.28). The chart marks Qwen Image 3 Pro as a closed-source model whose parameter count is not disclosed [24]. The scores are Qwen's own measurements on its own benchmark.
Openness and reception
Qwen-Image-3.0's closed release drew attention because of the series' open-weight history. Unite.AI, in an article carrying the byline of what it identifies as an AI-generated analyst, wrote that "the post carries no benchmark table, no parameter count, no license, and no downloadable weights, and no technical report describing how the model was trained or tested," calling it "a departure from how the series shipped before" [3]. The Decoder judged it "unlikely that the model weights will ship under an open license, as they did for the original Qwen-Image" [14].
As of September 23, 2026, Qwen's official Qwen-Image repository and Hugging Face model collection listed no Qwen-Image-3.0 release [22][23]. On September 20, 2026, Qwen instead released the open-weight Qwen-Image-2.1, a unified generation and editing model with a 7-billion-parameter visual generation component, under the Qwen Research License Agreement, which permits use "FOR NON-COMMERCIAL PURPOSES ONLY" and requires a separate license for commercial use [24][25]. Qwen's 2.1 announcement presents it as a compact, efficient open model and places it below Qwen Image 3 Pro on its benchmark chart [24].
Coverage of the capabilities themselves was cautiously positive. The Decoder highlighted the single-pass infographic grids and 10-pixel text but noted that "whether AI-generated academic papers and newspaper pages are useful as static images remains an open question" [14]. Decrypt framed the release as Alibaba steering image generation toward practical document and interface work rather than aesthetics [4]. Unite.AI observed that without weights or an evaluation set, "the only evidence a developer can act on is Alibaba's own reel of outputs" [3].
See also
References
- ^1 ^2 ^3 ^4 ^5 ^6 ^7 ^8 ^9 ^10 ^11 ^12 ^13 ^14 ^15 ^16 ^17 ^18Qwen Team. "Qwen-Image-3.0: Rich Content, Authentic Details, Deep Knowledge." Qwen blog, July 21, 2026. qwen.ai/blog
- ^1 ^2 ^3 ^4 ^5 ^6 ^7 ^8 ^9 ^10 ^11IT之家. "阿里千问发布 Qwen-Image-3.0 图像生成基础模型:落字成画,字字如印" (Alibaba Qwen releases Qwen-Image-3.0 image generation foundation model). July 21, 2026. ithome.com/...530
- ^1 ^2 ^3 ^4 ^5 ^6 ^7 ^8Unite.AI (Jonas Reeve). "Alibaba Launches Qwen-Image-3.0 Without Benchmarks or Weights." July 21, 2026. unite.ai/...mage-3-0-without-benchmarks-or-weights
- ^1 ^2 ^3 ^4Decrypt. "Alibaba's New Qwen Image 3 AI Wants to Be Useful, Not Just Pretty." July 22, 2026. decrypt.co/...en-image-3-ai-useful-not-just-pretty
- ^1 ^2Qwen Team. "Qwen-Image: Crafting with Native Text Rendering." Qwen blog, August 4, 2025. qwenlm.github.io/...qwen-image
- ^Chenfei Wu, Jiahao Li, Jingren Zhou, et al. (Qwen team). "Qwen-Image Technical Report." arXiv:2508.02324, August 2025. arxiv.org/...2508.02324
- ^1 ^2 ^3"Qwen/Qwen-Image." Hugging Face model card. huggingface.co/...Qwen-Image
- ^1 ^2 ^3 ^4"Qwen/Qwen-Image-Edit," "Qwen/Qwen-Image-Edit-2509," "Qwen/Qwen-Image-Edit-2511," "Qwen/Qwen-Image-Layered." Hugging Face model cards (Apache 2.0). huggingface.co/...Qwen-Image-Edit
- ^1 ^2"Qwen/Qwen-Image-2512." Hugging Face model card (Apache 2.0, created December 30, 2025). huggingface.co/...Qwen-Image-2512
- ^1 ^2 ^3 ^4Qwen Team. "Qwen-Image-2.0: Professional infographics, exquisite photorealism." Qwen blog, February 2026. qwen.ai/blog
- ^1 ^2 ^3"Text-to-Image Leaderboard." LMArena, leaderboard update of August 4, 2026 (archived August 5, 2026). web.archive.org/...text-to-image
- ^1 ^2"Qwen/Qwen-Image-Bench." Hugging Face dataset (leaderboard README, May 2026; checked September 23, 2026). huggingface.co/...Qwen-Image-Bench
- ^Niantong Li, Guangzheng Hu, Weixu Qiao, et al. (Qwen team). "Qwen-Image-Bench: From Generation to Creation in Text-to-Image Evaluation." arXiv:2605.28091, May 2026. arxiv.org/...2605.28091
- ^1 ^2 ^3The Decoder. "Alibaba's Qwen-Image-3.0 renders full infographic grids and readable ten-pixel text in a single pass." July 21, 2026. the-decoder.com/...ten-pixel-text-in-a-single-pass
- ^1 ^2 ^3 ^4Qwen (@Alibaba_Qwen). Announcement post on X, July 22, 2026. x.com/...2079906336381509659
- ^新浪财经. "阿里发布Qwen-Image-3.0图像模型,支持超长指令复杂图文生成" (Alibaba releases Qwen-Image-3.0 image model supporting ultra-long instructions). July 21, 2026. finance.sina.com.cn/...doc-iniipxxk4931252.shtml
- ^1 ^2 ^3 ^4 ^5Alibaba Cloud Model Studio. "Qwen Image Generation and Editing 3.0 API Reference." Last updated September 22, 2026; checked September 23, 2026. Earlier version (last updated July 20, 2026) archived August 21, 2026: web.archive.org/...ation-and-editing-api-reference. Current: alibabacloud.com/...tion-and-editing-api-reference
- ^1 ^2 ^3Alibaba Cloud Model Studio. "Image generation and editing." Checked September 23, 2026. help.aliyun.com/...image-model
- ^1 ^2 ^3 ^4 ^5Alibaba Cloud Model Studio. "Model lifecycle and updates." Entries dated July 20, August 4, and August 6, 2026; checked September 23, 2026. help.aliyun.com/...newly-released-models
- ^1 ^2 ^3 ^4OpenArt (@openart_ai). "Qwen Image 3.0 is now on OpenArt." X, August 11, 2026. x.com/...2087222961594081526
- ^1 ^2 ^3Qwen (@Alibaba_Qwen). "Try Qwen-Image-3.0 on @openart_ai!" X, August 12, 2026. x.com/...2087382849972547730
- ^1 ^2 ^3 ^4 ^5 ^6 ^7 ^8QwenLM. "Qwen-Image." Official GitHub repository, checked September 23, 2026. github.com/...Qwen-Image
- ^1 ^2 ^3 ^4 ^5 ^6 ^7Qwen. "Qwen-Image." Official Hugging Face collection, checked September 23, 2026. huggingface.co/...qwen-image
- ^1 ^2 ^3 ^4 ^5 ^6 ^7 ^8Qwen Team. "Qwen-Image-2.1: Compact, Efficient, and Unified Image Creation." Qwen blog, September 20, 2026 (includes the Qwen-Image-Bench comparison chart). qwen.ai/blog
- ^1 ^2"Qwen/Qwen-Image-2.1." Hugging Face model card and LICENSE (Qwen Research License Agreement, release date September 20, 2026). huggingface.co/...Qwen-Image-2.1
- ^Bing Zhao, Chenfei Wu, Deqing Li, et al. (Qwen team). "Qwen-Image-2.0 Technical Report." arXiv:2605.10730, May 2026. arxiv.org/...2605.10730
- ^1 ^2 ^3 ^436氪. "Qwen-Image-3.0上线千问AI平台" (Qwen-Image-3.0 goes live on the Qwen AI platform). August 5, 2026. 36kr.com/...3926001579980936
- ^1 ^2 ^3 ^4CNMO科技. "Qwen-Image-3.0上线千问AI平台 面向所有用户开放" (Qwen-Image-3.0 goes live on the Qwen AI platform, open to all users). August 5, 2026. ai.cnmo.com/...815113
- ^Alibaba Cloud Model Studio. "Model pricing." Last updated September 22, 2026; checked September 23, 2026. alibabacloud.com/...model-pricing
- ^千问AI平台 (Qwen AI platform). "Qwen-Image-3.0-Pro" model page. Checked September 23, 2026. qianwenai.com/...qwen-image-3.0-pro
- ^1 ^2"Text-to-Image Leaderboard." LMArena, leaderboard update of September 21, 2026 (retrieved September 23, 2026). arena.ai/...text-to-image
- ^1 ^2 ^3Artificial Analysis. "Text to Image Leaderboard." Retrieved September 23, 2026. artificialanalysis.ai/...leaderboard-text
Improve this article
Add missing citations, update stale details, or suggest a clearer explanation. Every suggestion is reviewed for sourcing before it goes live.
4 revisions · v5 · 3,027 words · full history
Fact-checks are independent of edits: a reviewer re-verifies the article against its sources and stamps the date. How we verify
Research and drafting on this wiki are AI-assisted, under named human editorial standards. How AI is used here
Reviewer note: xg07 independent adversarial verification 2026-09-23 (V7); writer audit + 6 minor fixed
Cite this page: AI Wiki. "Qwen-Image-3.0." aiwiki.ai, updated 23 Sept 2026, fact-checked 23 Sept 2026. CC BY 4.0. https://aiwiki.ai/wiki/qwen_image_3