Tesla Cybercab
The Tesla Cybercab is a two-seat, battery-electric robotaxi built by Tesla, Inc. for its Robotaxi ride-hailing service. It is the first Tesla designed only for driverless operation: the production vehicle has no steering wheel, no accelerator or brake pedals, and no side mirrors, and its cabin holds two passenger seats and a 22-inch landscape touchscreen. Tesla unveiled the concept on October 10, 2024, produced a first unit at Gigafactory Texas on February 17, 2026, reported the start of production in April 2026, and began carrying members of the public in Austin, Texas on September 3, 2026, at an invitation-only event that was not livestreamed and that CEO Elon Musk did not attend.[1][2][3][4] On the same day the US National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an audit query, AQ26002, into how Tesla certified a vehicle without manual controls as compliant with the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS).[5]
The Cybercab is the vehicle around which Tesla says it intends to build its autonomous driving business. It uses a camera-only sensor suite and Tesla's Full Self-Driving (FSD) software, and it was engineered around cost per mile rather than around a human driver. Musk has attached a series of dates and prices to it since 2019, most of which slipped; the dated record is set out below so that the company's claims can be separated from what has happened.
Overview
Tesla's Robotaxi service, which started in Austin in June 2025 with modified Model Y SUVs, is covered at Tesla Robotaxi. The Cybercab is the second vehicle type in that service and the first one built for it. Tesla's own description, in the YouTube video it published on launch day, is "our first purpose-built autonomous vehicle without a steering wheel or pedals," and the video says rides are available only through the Tesla Robotaxi app.[1] Tesla's first responder documentation calls the vehicle the "Cybercab Robotaxi" and states that it "is equipped with Tesla's SAE Level 4 automated driving system."[6]
Tesla has said the Cybercab is meant to replace the Model Y in its fleet. Its first-quarter 2026 shareholder letter said that "once in production, we expect that Cybercab will begin to replace the existing Model Y fleet and will be the largest volume vehicle in the fleet over time," and the second-quarter letter called it "our purpose-built autonomous EV designed to be the workhorse of our Robotaxi fleet."[7][8] Musk told analysts in April 2026 that "90% of miles driven are with one or two people," so "you'd want the vast majority of your production to be Cybercab."[9]
Tesla is one of several companies that have built a vehicle with no driver controls. Cruise's Origin never received the federal approvals it sought and was cancelled in 2024;[13] Amazon's Zoox self-certified its pod in 2022, drew a comparable NHTSA audit query, and in July 2026 received a temporary FMVSS exemption to deploy commercially under a 2,500-vehicle annual cap.[10][11] Waymo, the largest US robotaxi operator, uses production cars that keep their manual controls.[12]
Unveiling at "We, Robot" (October 2024)
Tesla showed the Cybercab at an invitation-only event called "We, Robot" on the night of October 10, 2024 at Warner Bros. Discovery's studio lot in Burbank, California. The event had been scheduled for August 8 and was pushed back after Musk asked for a design change to the front of the car.[13] Musk arrived on stage in a Cybercab, and Tesla said it had 21 of the two-seaters and 50 "autonomous" vehicles in total on the lot; attendees were given rides on the closed studio streets. TechCrunch counted a lineup of 20 Cybercabs.[13][14]
The claims Musk made that night have framed every later discussion of the vehicle:
| Claim made on October 10, 2024 | Wording reported at the time |
|---|---|
| Price | Consumers would be able to buy a Cybercab for "below $30,000".[13][14] |
| Production date | "Probably" in 2026, "before 2027"; Musk added that he tends to be optimistic about timelines.[13][15] |
| Operating cost | About $0.20 per mile over time, with a price to riders of "30 or 40 cents a mile" including taxes.[13][16] |
| Charging | No charge port; the vehicle would use inductive (wireless) charging.[13][14] |
| Unsupervised FSD | Tesla expected "unsupervised FSD in Texas and California next year" on the Model 3 and Model Y.[13][14] |
The same event introduced the 20-passenger Robovan concept and a group of Optimus humanoid robots that were later shown to have been teleoperated.[13][17] Tesla's shares fell nearly 8 percent the next morning, and The Washington Post described the production timeline as "vague."[15] The concept car had butterfly doors and no side mirrors.[36]
Design and specifications
The production Cybercab differs from the 2024 concept in finish and detail but keeps its layout: a low two-door coupe with butterfly (scissor-hinged) doors, a gold exterior, and no driver's station. Reported specifications come from three kinds of sources: Tesla's own documents (the Robotaxi first responder plan, the launch video, X posts, and the Chinese-market materials summarized by CnEVPost), the Environmental Protection Agency certification filing that Electrek and InsideEVs obtained in June 2026, and statements by Tesla engineers at the launch event as relayed by attendees.[6][19][20][21]
| Attribute | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Seats | 2 | Tesla first responder plan[6] |
| Manual controls | None on production vehicles: no steering wheel, accelerator pedal, brake pedal, or side mirrors | Tesla first responder plan; NHTSA[5][6] |
| Doors | Two butterfly doors, opened by a button on the B-pillar, from the app, or from the touchscreen | Tesla first responder plan; InsideEVs[6][20] |
| Motor | One AC three-phase permanent-magnet motor, 163 kW (219 hp), front-wheel drive, single-speed | EPA filing via Electrek[19] |
| Battery | Lithium-ion, 326 V nominal, 146 Ah (about 47.6 kWh, rounded to 48 kWh in press) | EPA filing via Electrek; CnEVPost[19][21] |
| Low-voltage system | 48 V | First responder plan via Not a Tesla App[22] |
| Curb weight | 3,113 lb (1,412 kg) | EPA filing; CnEVPost[19][21] |
| GVWR | 3,730 lb | EPA filing via Electrek[19] |
| Range | 418.2 mi combined and 375.4 mi highway, unadjusted EPA test results; Electrek estimates about 293 mi after the usual adjustment; Tesla's Chinese materials cite a 673 km laboratory figure | Electrek; CnEVPost[19][21] |
| Efficiency | 165 Wh/mi, confirmed by Tesla vehicle engineering VP Lars Moravy, the lowest figure the EPA has certified for a production vehicle according to Electrek | Electrek[23] |
| Drag coefficient | Under 0.2, per lead engineer Eric Earley at the launch event | InsideEVs[20] |
| Exterior cameras | Eight: front, rear, one in each door pillar, two at the top of the windshield, one in each front fender | InsideEVs; first responder plan[6][20] |
| Other sensors | Cabin camera and cabin radar; exterior microphones on the B-pillars; no lidar or exterior radar | InsideEVs; Tesla first responder plan[6][20] |
| Trunk | 20.2 cubic feet, 220 lb (100 kg) limit | InsideEVs[20] |
| Screen | 22-inch touchscreen in landscape orientation; no glovebox | Tesla X post; first responder plan[6][24] |
| Body panels | Injection-molded plastic panels with the color in the material; not painted | InsideEVs; keynote attendee notes via Statesman[20][27] |
| Installed capacity | More than 125,000 per year at Gigafactory Texas | Tesla Q2 2026 update[8] |
Body and cabin
A Tesla official said at the launch that "80% of robotaxi rides are with two passengers; that's why the Cybercab only has two seats."[20] The two backrests recline independently but the seat base moves as one piece. Rider preferences such as cabin temperature and streaming-service logins are loaded when the car arrives and wiped when the ride ends, and the cabin includes Tesla's Grok assistant for voice queries.[20] Tesla's launch-day post on X promised theater, music, and gaming apps on the 22-inch touchscreen and said the car would "soon" be equipped with Starlink V5 satellite hardware.[24] The windows "cannot be fully opened at this time," according to the documentation Tesla released with the launch, and the car has no LATCH anchors: a single child seat can be secured only with the seat belt.[26]
The unpainted body is one of the cost measures. InsideEVs reported that the color is embedded in the panel material during molding, which removes the paint shop from the process.[20] An attendee's notes from the keynote, published by the Austin American-Statesman, listed injection-molded panels with a large share of recycled material, a 48 V low-voltage architecture, a front-wheel-drive layout with a tall gear ratio, a steer-by-wire rack mounted behind the drive unit, and a battery pack of dry-cathode 4680 cells "engineered for 500k miles" of DC fast charging; these are attendee notes rather than a Tesla specification sheet.[27]
Sensors and compute
The Cybercab uses cameras only. CnEVPost, summarizing Tesla's Chinese-market materials, said the vehicle "uses 8 high-definition cameras to perceive its surroundings and an end-to-end neural network to make driving decisions," does not rely on lidar or high-definition maps, and "uses the same AI 4 computing hardware found in the current Model 3 and Model Y."[21] Tesla has not published the computer's specification. Motor1 and Electrek reported before the launch that the first production wave would run on the AI4 (Hardware 4) generation because the Tesla AI5 chip is not due in volume until 2027.[28][29] Not a Tesla App reported in July 2026, citing a source, that production Cybercabs carry an AI4-based computer with more memory than the 32 GB (two 16 GB chips) in consumer AI4 computers, and the keynote attendee notes described a computer "similar" to HW4 "with some iterative updates (not disclosed)."[27][30]
Each exterior camera has its own washer, and the first responder plan says the vehicle is designed to detect the lights and sirens of emergency vehicles, pull over when one follows it with lights and sirens active, respond to hand signals from first responders, and follow paths marked by cones.[6][22] Tesla's Robotaxi vehicles run a version of FSD that the company describes as unsupervised, while customer cars run FSD (Supervised), which requires a driver ready to take over.[3]
Controls: steer-by-wire and brake-by-wire
Because nobody inside can steer or brake, the Cybercab's steering and braking are both electronic. It has no hydraulic brake lines; electric actuators at each caliper apply the brakes. Musk wrote on X after the launch that "having electric brakes avoids the complexity of a hydraulic system: no need to rout plumbing all around the car."[26][32] The first responder plan notes that a Cybercab fitted with a steering wheel and pedals "is typically an engineering or test vehicle, and operates at SAE Level 2 autonomy."[6] Tesla said on its second-quarter 2026 call that it was accumulating miles with such retrofitted Cybercabs "to calibrate to the Cybercab chassis" before deploying many driverless units.[31]
Charging
At the 2024 unveiling Musk said the Cybercab had no plug and would charge inductively, and Tesla later said the system's efficiency "is well above 90%."[13][33] In February 2026 the Federal Communications Commission granted Tesla a waiver to use ultra-wideband radio for positioning a vehicle over a ground charging pad; the filing describes a pulse UWB system linking a transceiver in the vehicle to one in a ground-level station, with Bluetooth used as an interim solution.[34] Teslarati has reported prototypes charging at ordinary Superchargers, and a City of Austin filing reviewed by the Statesman in August 2026 for a Tesla robotaxi charging and car-wash site in the St. Elmo neighborhood listed 48 Supercharger posts and 12 Supercharger cabinets.[63][34] Tesla has not published how the production fleet in Austin is charged. The first responder plan says a Cybercab whose battery is too low for another ride "proceeds to a charging station before accepting new ride bookings."[6]
Safety equipment and the first responder plan
Tesla publishes a Robotaxi First Responder Interaction Plan for the Cybercab; version 1.1 is dated July 16, 2026 and was filed with the Texas Department of Public Safety, and version 1.2 is dated September 3, 2026.[6][35] The plan says that when the vehicle detects a collision or airbag deployment it stops, parks, disables Autonomous Mode, unlocks the doors, opens the windows if airbags deployed, cuts high-voltage power, and opens a two-way call with a Tesla representative. Autonomous Mode "cannot be re-enabled until a Tesla representative reviews the incident."[6] Hazard lights flash at the normal rate at pickups and drop-offs and at roughly twice that rate when Autonomous Mode is off.[6] Reporting on the plan described at least ten airbags (front, knee, curtain, and seat-mounted side airbags on both sides of each seat), an active hood for pedestrian impacts, speakers under the chassis and microphones on the B-pillars for talking to Tesla's remote support staff, two "first responder loops" that cut power when severed, and a requirement to tow the car with all four wheels off the ground.[22]
The plan's stated operational design domain covers "all public roadways, such as freeways, highways, city streets, and rural roads," at all times of day, in "light and moderate precipitation such as rain, fog, and snow"; it says the vehicle "has limited operational capability under extreme weather conditions" such as flooding, heavy rain, icy roads, and hurricane-strength winds and does not accept new rides when such conditions are expected.[6] The plan also states that "all Robotaxi vehicles are owned and operated by Tesla at this time."[6]
Manufacturing and the production ramp
Tesla builds the Cybercab at Gigafactory Texas near Austin using what it calls the "unboxed" process, in which sub-assemblies are built in parallel and joined late rather than moving a body down a single line. At the November 6, 2025 shareholder meeting Musk said "manufacturing for the Cybercab is closer to a high-volume consumer electronics device than a car manufacturing line" and targeted "a net result of less than a ten-second cycle time," which he said could mean 2 million to 3 million units a year and, in theory, up to 5 million.[36][37] The keynote on September 3, 2026 included a display of the unboxed assembly sequence and a partly built car.[4][38]
| Date | Tesla statement or event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| November 6, 2025 | Musk: production starts at Gigafactory Texas in April 2026; ten-second cycle time target. | TechCrunch; InsideEVs[36][37] |
| January 28, 2026 | Q4 2025 update: Cybercab status "Tooling"; production ramps for Semi and Cybercab "both commencing 1H26"; production lines being installed. | Tesla Q4 2025 update[39] |
| February 17, 2026 | Tesla announces the first Cybercab off the Texas line; Electrek reports continuous production is not expected until April. | Electrek[29] |
| April 22, 2026 | Q1 2026 update lists Cybercab as "Pilot Production"; Musk on the call: "We have just started production of Cybercab," with initial output "very slow" on a "stretched-out S-curve" before "going kind of exponential towards the end of the year and certainly next year." | Tesla Q1 2026 update; call transcript[7][9] |
| April 2026 | Moravy says on X that the 2,500-vehicle annual exemption cap does not apply to the Cybercab; compliance stickers seen on units at the factory. | Electrek; Not a Tesla App[40][41] |
| May 26, 2026 | EPA issues the certificate for test group TTSLV00.0L1A; "introduction into commerce" May 29. | Electrek[19] |
| Q2 2026 (July 22 update) | Status "Production," installed capacity ">125,000" per year; engineering test drives on public roads began in the quarter; employee rides at the Texas campus began in July. | Tesla Q2 2026 update[8] |
| July 2026 | More than 100 Cybercabs seen in the factory's outbound lots. | Electrek[42] |
| August 31 to September 2, 2026 | 45 Cybercabs registered for commercial autonomous operation with the Texas DMV. | Statesman; CNBC[3][43] |
Electrek reported that three senior Cybercab program leaders left between February and March 2026: vehicle program manager Victor Nechita, over-the-air and ride-hailing infrastructure director Thomas Dmytryk, and assembly leader Mark Lupkey.[40] Tesla's second-quarter letter said battery pack capacity "remains the limiting factor on ramping our vehicle production globally" and that it was increasing 4680 cell output to support the Cybercab and Semi ramps.[8]
Musk also said on the July 22, 2026 call that Tesla needed "to accumulate driving data that is specific to the Cybercab" before "we can put a lot of them on the road," and that "as we are confident about that, the number of Cybercabs in cities will increase dramatically."[31]
The Austin launch (September 3, 2026)
The event
Tesla confirmed the September 3 date on August 24 with a poster reading "Exclusive Access: Cybercab." Invitations went to riders who completed Robotaxi trips between August 17 and 23 (five sweepstakes winners) and to recipients of "Exclusive Access" emails with an August 30 RSVP deadline; attendees had to be at least 21 and show ID.[28][44] Tesla engineer Eric Earley said on X that the event would begin at 4:45 p.m. Central in downtown Austin; the venue was ACL Live, a 2,700-seat theater, and the entry pass was a piece of the injection-molded body material.[27][43]
Tesla did not stream the event publicly. Not a Tesla App reported that an internal feed was shown to employees, and attendee Herbert Ong later posted a recording of the keynote, which lasted about 15 minutes.[4][38] Musk did not attend; Elluswamy and other engineers presented.[2][38] Attendees agreed not to record or disclose certain information without Tesla's permission, Electrek reported that guests were required to sign non-disclosure agreements, and traditional media were not invited.[3][20][46] Reuters described the guest list as investors, fans, and social media personalities, and Electrek characterized it as "shareholders and friendly influencers."[45][46]
Statements from the stage that reached the public through attendees and Reuters included Elluswamy's "It's open to the entire public"; a plan to use dynamic pricing while promising "a first-class experience at coach price"; the two-passenger statistic quoted above; and technical details about the drivetrain, brakes, and manufacturing. Reuters noted that Tesla "did not specify when it would charge fares."[20][45] Musk posted the same afternoon that "Cybercabs have no steering wheels or pedals. They are designed and built for maximally efficient autonomous operation," and had written "A Storm of Cybercabs" the night before.[47][48] In a video posted that afternoon, Musk called the Cybercab "the first car that is specifically built for unsupervised full self-driving."[45]
Outside the theater, a Robotaxi-branded Model Y briefly blocked an EMS vehicle that was not on a call, and Austin police provided security while staff turned away people without invitations.[27] Cybercabs picked up attendees at the venue for the first driverless rides, and Tesla staff said the vehicles would open to the public the next day.[27]
Tesla also published a "robotaxi interest form" that day for businesses interested in "Cybercab fleet purchasing," "mobility hubs and infrastructure," or event collaboration. TechCrunch called it "not definitive proof that Tesla will sell its autonomous vehicles to third-party operators" but a sign of where its plans lie.[49]
Public rides
Tesla updated the Robotaxi app on September 3 to let riders in Austin choose between a Cybercab (two passengers) and a Model Y (four), added an arrival screen that matches the phone's color to the Cybercab's front light bar, and added buttons to honk, flash the lights, and open the doors and trunk.[50] Tesla said on X that the public could hail Cybercabs from 5 p.m. Central on Friday, September 4, within limited areas of Austin.[20][51] The updated terms of service bar anyone under 13 from a Cybercab (the Model Y limit is 8), require riders aged 13 to 17 to be accompanied by an adult, and require arbitration of disputes.[26][27][50]
Whether rides were paid at launch was not stated by Tesla. Reuters reported that executives "described pricing plans, without specifically saying whether they were starting to charge," and Tesla's Austin Model Y service already used dynamic fares; the Statesman quoted a $19.58 Robotaxi fare for a lunchtime trip to the venue on launch day against $12.96 for an electric Uber.[27][10] CNBC described the offering as "a driverless trip in a Cybercab within a geofenced area around Austin."[2] Tesla did not say whether an employee rides along; the vehicle has no driver's seat, and the Statesman reported that test Cybercabs had been seen in Austin with safety monitors aboard as late as September 1.[43]
Fleet size
Texas Department of Motor Vehicles records showed 45 Cybercabs authorized for commercial driverless operation in the state, all registered in the days before the launch, out of 420 Tesla vehicles authorized statewide as of the evening of September 2, according to CNBC and Reuters.[3][52] The Statesman, citing the same dashboard on September 2, put Tesla's Texas fleet at 314, mostly Model Ys, against nearly 1,000 Waymo vehicles registered in Texas.[43] None of the Cybercabs were registered in the other states where Tesla's Model Y robotaxis operate.[27] Tesla did not say how many of the 45 were in passenger service, and InsideEVs noted the crowdsourced Robotaxi Tracker counted roughly 220 driverless Teslas across six cities, compared with about 4,000 Waymo vehicles in 14 cities.[20]
Tesla said the Cybercab would go on display in Beijing, Shanghai, and other Chinese cities from mid-September 2026, with no sales or robotaxi operations planned there.[21]
Regulatory status
Federal: self-certification and NHTSA audit query AQ26002
US automakers do not receive pre-approval for new vehicles; they certify that a vehicle meets every applicable FMVSS, and NHTSA investigates afterward. Several of those standards were written around a human driver: FMVSS No. 111 requires interior and exterior mirrors, and No. 135 requires manually operated service and parking brake controls.[11][56] A manufacturer whose vehicle cannot comply may instead petition under 49 CFR Part 555 for a temporary exemption, which is capped at 2,500 vehicles per year.[10][54]
Tesla chose certification rather than exemption. In April 2026 Moravy answered "No" when asked on X whether the 2,500-vehicle cap applied to the Cybercab, and Electrek reported federal compliance stickers on production units.[40][41] On the day of the Austin launch NHTSA's Office of Defects Investigation opened audit query AQ26002, "prompted by public information," covering an estimated 1,000 Cybercab vehicles. The opening resume states:
"On September 3, 2026, Tesla began commercial deployment with a small number of its Cybercab vehicles in Austin, Texas. Tesla notified the Agency that it certified those Cybercab vehicles as compliant with all applicable Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS). Tesla also notified the Agency that it plans to gradually expand commercial deployment of the Cybercab to include additional vehicles and locations. The vehicles lack permanently attached, conventional manual controls, such as a brake pedal, gas pedal, steering wheel, and mirrors. NHTSA is opening this AQ to examine the process and technical data on which Tesla relied when certifying the Cybercab and related issues. Among other things, NHTSA will consider the extent to which Tesla's certification depended on determinations that certain FMVSS are inapplicable to the Cybercab."[5]
NHTSA Administrator Jonathan Morrison said in a statement: "NHTSA fully supports the safe development and deployment of automated vehicles. But as the federal regulator, we need to ensure that all of our laws are followed." The agency added that it was updating the standards that refer to manual controls and "looks forward to finishing these critical updates and removing unnecessary barriers to American AV innovation in the coming months. Until that work is completed, however, existing standards remain in force."[10] An audit query is an investigative step rather than an enforcement action; NHTSA investigates after a manufacturer has certified a vehicle,[46][53] and Cybercab rides continued to be offered after the query was opened.[20]
The Zoox case is the closest precedent. Zoox self-certified its purpose-built robotaxi in 2022, NHTSA opened audit query AQ23001 the following year, Zoox withdrew the certification, received a demonstration exemption in August 2025, and was granted a commercial exemption from portions of eight FMVSS (including the mirror requirements of No. 111 and the manual brake control requirements of No. 135) effective July 31, 2026 through July 31, 2028.[10][11][54] Michael Brooks of the Center for Auto Safety told Reuters, "I don't think there is a reasonable interpretation that can be made to suggest that the Cybercab can comply with the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards." Carnegie Mellon professor Philip Koopman said he expected Tesla "to test the limits," and three former senior NHTSA officials told Reuters a dispute over self-certification could end up in court.[54] Tesla did not respond to Reuters' requests for comment.[54]
Federal framework changes, 2025-2026
| Date | Action | Relevance to the Cybercab |
|---|---|---|
| April 24, 2025 | DOT and NHTSA announce an automated vehicle framework and open the Automated Vehicle Exemption Program to US-built vehicles under 49 U.S.C. 30114(a).[55] | Creates a domestic demonstration-exemption route Tesla has not used. |
| June 13, 2025 | NHTSA announces faster Part 555 processing with tailored "operational authorizations."[55] | The route Zoox took; still capped at 2,500 vehicles per year.[10] |
| March 16, 2026 | NHTSA proposes amending FMVSS Nos. 102, 103, and 104 for ADS vehicles without manual controls.[55] | Would remove some driver-oriented requirements if finalized. |
| June 26, 2026 | NHTSA proposes amending FMVSS No. 135 so that vehicles without manually operated driving controls can be certified; comments closed July 27, 2026.[12][56] | Addresses the brake-pedal requirement; a proposal, not a rule, as of the launch. |
| July 31, 2026 | NHTSA publishes AV Framework updates and interim Part 555 guidance for comment (comment period later extended); grants Zoox's commercial exemption.[11][55] | Confirms the exemption path remains the recognized route for non-compliant designs. |
| September 3, 2026 | NHTSA opens AQ26002.[5] | Examines Tesla's certification. |
Electrek reported in April 2026 that Congress was debating a bill that would raise the exemption cap from 2,500 to 90,000 vehicles; no such change had been enacted as of the launch.[40]
Texas
Texas Senate Bill 2807 (89th Legislature) took effect September 1, 2025 and requires a Texas DMV authorization for commercial operation of automated vehicles without a human driver. The DMV's implementing rules took effect February 27, 2026 and became enforceable on May 28, 2026.[57][58] An applicant attests that the vehicle can comply with traffic laws, has a recording device, is "equipped with an automated driving system in compliance with applicable federal law," can reach a minimal risk condition, is registered and insured, and that a first responder interaction plan has been filed with the Department of Public Safety. There is no fee, authorizations do not expire, and the DMV can suspend or revoke one when operation "has resulted, or is likely to result, in serious bodily injury."[57] Tesla's Cybercab first responder plan is posted on the DPS site, and the vehicles appear on the DMV's public list of authorized automated vehicles.[3][35] The Statesman noted that Tesla "has not said whether it received regulatory approval to operate the service commercially" beyond that authorization.[43]
Other jurisdictions
The Nevada Transportation Authority approved a Clark County permit in August 2026 allowing Tesla up to 5,000 robotaxis; a Tesla representative told the agency the company would start small, as it had in Austin "with two vehicles" and a 27-mile geofence.[25] Cybercabs were seen in San Francisco in the summer of 2026, where Tesla does not hold a driverless permit and runs a ride service with employees at the wheel.[3][43]
Market reaction
Tesla shares rose 5.4 percent on Thursday, September 3, ahead of the event and fell 6 percent on Friday, September 4.[2] RBC Capital Markets, which rates the stock a buy, wrote that Tesla had "offered limited new incremental disclosure relative to prior announcements, with key outstanding questions around pricing, production cadence, and regulatory approvals remaining open," and noted the absence of a public livestream. Wells Fargo headlined its note "TSLA Cybercab Launch Event Underwhelms" and said the Austin service was "facing early execution issues"; CNBC noted that users had shared complaints about routing errors, missed destinations, and long waits.[2] Morgan Stanley's Andrew Percoco had written beforehand that "if Thursday's event is merely an unveiling with limited vehicles committed to the road, we expect the stock to sell off."[27] The stock was down about 21 percent for the year as of September 2.[3]
Reuters wrote that the robotaxi bet had pushed Tesla's valuation to $1.4 trillion, "more than the top several global automakers combined."[54]
Relationship to the Tesla Robotaxi service
The Cybercab joined a service that already existed. Tesla began giving rides in Austin on June 22, 2025 with about ten Model Ys, a flat $4.20 fare, a Tesla employee in the front passenger seat as a "safety monitor," and a small South Austin service area.[59] Texas's permit law, SB 2807, had been signed by Governor Greg Abbott two days earlier, on June 20, 2025.[62] Tesla said it began testing driverless Model Ys in Austin in December 2025 and started removing safety monitors in January 2026, launched unsupervised rides in Dallas and Houston in April 2026 and in Miami, Orlando, and Tampa in July, and reported cumulative paid Robotaxi miles that TechCrunch calculated fell from about 1.1 million in the first quarter of 2026 to about 700,000 in the second.[7][8][31][39] By the launch, Tesla's second-quarter letter counted seven metros of Robotaxi coverage, including a supervised ride service in the San Francisco Bay Area that operates under a California charter-party permit with employees driving.[3][8]
Cybercab rides are, for now, an Austin-only option within that app. Tesla's first responder plan says Robotaxi "Mission Control coordinates and manages rides on Robotaxi vehicles, and handles any charging and maintenance," and Tesla has acknowledged to NHTSA that remote operators can move Robotaxi vehicles at low speed after incidents.[6][12] Tesla's Q2 2026 letter reported employee Cybercab rides on the factory campus in July as a "precursor to Cybercab deployment in our Robotaxi fleets."[8]
Claims and outcomes
| Date | Claim | What happened |
|---|---|---|
| April 22, 2019 (Autonomy Day) | "Next year for sure, we will have over a million robotaxis on the road."[13] | No robotaxi service until June 2025.[59] |
| 2020 | "There will be autonomous robotaxis from Tesla next year."[49] | Not met. |
| October 10, 2024 | Cybercab priced below $30,000 and in production in 2026, "before 2027."[13][14] | Production began in 2026 (first unit February 17; continuous production April). No consumer sales as of September 2026; Tesla's fleet is company-owned.[6][8][29] |
| October 10, 2024 | Unsupervised FSD in Texas and California in 2025.[13] | Austin rides began June 2025 with a safety monitor; monitor removal began January 2026. No driverless permit in California as of September 2026.[3][39][59] |
| 2025 | Tesla robotaxis would serve half the US population by around the end of 2025.[20][43] | Service in six unsupervised metros as of September 2026.[3] |
| November 6, 2025 | Production begins at Gigafactory Texas in April 2026.[36] | Met: Tesla reported the start of production in April 2026.[7][8] |
| November 6, 2025 | "I think we'll be able to deploy all the Cybercabs that we produce."[36] | Musk said in July 2026 that Cybercab-specific data was needed before many could be deployed; 45 registered in Texas at launch.[31][43] |
| February 17, 2026 | Musk answers "Yes" to whether Tesla will sell a Cybercab to a customer for $30,000 or less before 2027.[60] | Open. |
| April 22, 2026 | Production "exponential towards the end of the year"; unsupervised FSD to customer cars "probably Q4"; Robotaxi "likely will not see material revenue until at least 2027."[9][40][42] | Open. |
| September 3, 2026 | "A Storm of Cybercabs."[48] | 45 Cybercabs registered in Texas; rides in limited areas of Austin.[3][43] |
Reception
Coverage of the launch split along familiar lines. Fans in Austin, some dressed in gold, cheered the first rides, and Florida Governor Ron DeSantis had earlier praised a Cybercab ride at the state's SunTrax test track.[27][43] InsideEVs called the event "hyped-up but rather underwhelming" and the Cybercab "the clearest embodiment yet of Musk's bet that cameras and powerful AI" can drive safely.[20] TechCrunch described the private event as "an odd choice for the launch of a product CEO Elon Musk has spent years building toward" and framed the vehicle as Tesla's "fork in the road": either the start of a transformation of urban transport or evidence that "Tesla really is just an automaker after all."[18][26] Electrek, which has tracked the Austin service since 2025, argued that the Cybercab is "a manufacturing achievement attached to a software promise that keeps slipping" and that its usefulness depends on the still-unproven unsupervised software.[42][46] A Reuters analysis quoted University of South Carolina law professor Bryant Walker Smith: "No public information about Tesla's capabilities suggests that Tesla is anywhere close to being able to safely and reliably deploy an automated driving system over the wide range of conditions that would be required for a vehicle without conventional controls."[54]
Waymo, without naming Tesla, wrote in August 2026 that "cameras are incredible, but they aren't enough" after more than 200 million autonomous miles.[43] Tesla's Elluswamy took the opposite position on the July call: "You can have safe, comfortable, and affordable autonomy with just cameras."[31] A Pew Research Center survey in February 2026 found seven in ten US adults "not too" or "not at all" comfortable riding in a driverless car, and a Safe Autonomous Vehicles Everywhere poll cited by the Statesman found 66 percent of Austin respondents opposed to the Cybercab operating as a commercial taxi.[25][61]
See also
References
- ^The Future Has Arrived | Cybercab - Tesla (YouTube), September 3, 2026.
- ^Tesla's stock drops as Cybercab update 'underwhelms' Wall Street - CNBC (Lora Kolodny), September 4, 2026.
- ^'No steering wheel, no pedals': Tesla teases fans ahead of long-awaited Cybercab update - CNBC (Lora Kolodny), September 3, 2026.
- ^Watch Replay of Tesla's Cybercab Event - Not a Tesla App, September 4, 2026.
- ^OVSC Resume, Investigation AQ26002: Tesla Cybercab FMVSS Certification - NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation, opened September 3, 2026.
- ^Robotaxi First Responder Interaction Plan: Cybercab, Version 1.2 - Tesla, September 3, 2026.
- ^Q1 2026 Update - Tesla, April 22, 2026.
- ^Q2 2026 Update - Tesla, July 22, 2026.
- ^FULL TRANSCRIPT: Tesla (TSLA) Q1 2026 earnings call - EVwire, April 23, 2026.
- ^Feds launch investigation into Tesla's Cybercab deployment - TechCrunch (Sean O'Kane, Kirsten Korosec), September 4, 2026.
- ^Zoox: Grant of Temporary Exemption From Portions of Various Requirements of the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards - Federal Register (NHTSA), July 31, 2026.
- ^Trump admin proposes axing brake pedal requirement for AVs in a boost for Tesla - TechCrunch (Sean O'Kane), June 25, 2026.
- ^Tesla reveals 20 Cybercabs at We, Robot event, says you'll be able to buy one for less than $30,000 - TechCrunch, October 10, 2024.
- ^Elon Musk hypes $30,000 Tesla self-driving Cybercab and larger Robovan at robotaxi event - CNBC (Lora Kolodny), October 11, 2024.
- ^Elon Musk unveils Tesla's Cybercab with vague production timeline - The Washington Post (Trisha Thadani), October 11, 2024.
- ^Tesla unveiled its new Cybercab robotaxi at exclusive Austin event. Follow along here. - Austin American-Statesman live updates (via Yahoo Autos), September 3, 2026.
- ^Tesla Optimus bots were controlled by humans during the 'We, Robot' event - TechCrunch (Rebecca Bellan), October 14, 2024.
- ^The Cybercab is Tesla's 'fork in the road' moment - TechCrunch, September 3, 2026.
- ^Tesla Cybercab full specs revealed: 3,113 lbs, 219 HP, 48 kWh - Electrek, June 15, 2026.
- ^Tesla's Cybercab Is Finally Giving Paid Robotaxi Rides. Here's What It Can And Can't Do - InsideEVs, September 4, 2026.
- ^Tesla Cybercab begins operations in US, China debut set for mid-September - CnEVPost (Phate Zhang), September 4, 2026.
- ^New Tesla Cybercab Details: Batteries, External Mics, Tow Straps, and More - Not a Tesla App, July 1, 2026.
- ^Tesla Cybercab is the most efficient EV ever produced at 165 Wh/mi - Electrek, May 22, 2026.
- ^Tesla post on X: "The future of transport is safer, more enjoyable & gives you more time back" - Tesla (@Tesla), September 3, 2026.
- ^Tesla Cybercab launch in Austin: What we know about the robotaxi - Austin American-Statesman (Andrea Guzman), August 25, 2026, updated September 2, 2026.
- ^No little kids allowed, and other new info about Tesla's Cybercab - TechCrunch (Sean O'Kane), September 4, 2026.
- ^Tesla unveils Cybercab robotaxi at Austin event: Live updates - Austin American-Statesman (Andrea Guzman, Jay Janner), September 3, 2026.
- ^Tesla's Steering-Wheel-Free Cybercab Hits Austin September 3 - Motor1 (Brian Potter), August 24, 2026.
- ^Tesla rolls first steering wheel-less Cybercab unit off the line before solving autonomy - Electrek, February 17, 2026.
- ^Exclusive: Tesla Cybercab Includes More Powerful FSD Hardware - Not a Tesla App, July 7, 2026.
- ^Tesla's robotaxis are moving in reverse - TechCrunch, July 23, 2026.
- ^Elon Musk post on X: "Having electric brakes avoids the complexity of a hydraulic system" - Elon Musk (@elonmusk), September 4, 2026.
- ^Tesla says its Cybercab wireless charging efficiency is 'well above 90%' - Teslarati (Zachary Visconti), October 20, 2024.
- ^Tesla's Cybercab clears key regulatory step for inductive charging - electrive, February 21, 2026.
- ^Robotaxi First Responder Interaction Plan: Cybercab, Version 1.1 - Tesla, filed with the Texas Department of Public Safety, July 16, 2026.
- ^Tesla to begin Cybercab production in April, Musk claims - TechCrunch (Kirsten Korosec), November 6, 2025.
- ^Tesla Cybercab Production Will Begin In April 2026, Elon Musk Says - InsideEVs (Suvrat Kothari), November 6, 2025.
- ^Tesla's Cybercab Launch Event: How to Watch & What to Expect - Not a Tesla App, September 3, 2026.
- ^Q4 and FY 2025 Update - Tesla, January 28, 2026.
- ^Tesla confirms Cybercab production has started despite delays in unsupervised driving - Electrek, April 23, 2026.
- ^Tesla Confirms Cybercab Has No Production Cap as Ramp Begins - Not a Tesla App (Nehal Malik), April 25, 2026.
- ^Tesla Cybercab: mass-producing a car it can't sell or drive itself - Electrek, July 6, 2026.
- ^Tesla adds 45 Cybercabs to Texas robotaxi fleet before Austin launch - Austin American-Statesman (Andrea Guzman), September 2, 2026.
- ^Tesla confirms Cybercab launch coming next week - Electrek, August 24, 2026.
- ^Tesla starts Cybercab rides in Austin, drawing US safety agency interest - Reuters (Chris Kirkham, Norihiko Shirouzu, Abhirup Roy), via Investing.com, September 4, 2026.
- ^Tesla Cybercab is already under NHTSA investigation after launch - Electrek, September 4, 2026.
- ^Elon Musk post on X: "Cybercabs have no steering wheels or pedals" - Elon Musk (@elonmusk), September 3, 2026.
- ^Elon Musk post on X: "A Storm of Cybercabs" - Elon Musk (@elonmusk), September 3, 2026.
- ^Tesla is asking people if they want to buy and run Cybercab fleets - TechCrunch (Kirsten Korosec), September 3, 2026.
- ^Tesla Updates Robotaxi App to Add Support for Cybercab Rides - Not a Tesla App, September 3, 2026.
- ^Tesla opens Cybercab rides to public in Austin, and there's no steering wheel or pedals - KPRC Click2Houston (Ninfa Saavedra), September 4, 2026.
- ^Tesla's Cybercab Is Under Federal Investigation Almost Immediately After Hitting The Streets - Engadget, September 4, 2026.
- ^The Tesla Cybercab Is Already Being Investigated For Not Having A Steering Wheel - InsideEVs (Rob Stumpf), September 4, 2026.
- ^Analysis: Musk Pushes Regulatory Limits With Tesla's Cybercab Robotaxi Service - Reuters (Abhirup Roy), via U.S. News, September 4, 2026.
- ^AV Framework Updates and Request for Comments on Interim Guidance - Federal Register (NHTSA), July 31, 2026.
- ^Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards; Modernization of FMVSS No. 135 To Accommodate ADS-Equipped Vehicles - Federal Register (NHTSA), June 26, 2026.
- ^Automated Vehicles Regulatory Program - Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, accessed September 4, 2026.
- ^Texas will require permits for self-driving cars starting in September - Engadget (Jackson Chen), June 22, 2025.
- ^Tesla launches robotaxi rides in Austin with big promises and unanswered questions - TechCrunch (Sean O'Kane, Kirsten Korosec), June 22, 2025.
- ^Elon Musk reveals price of Tesla's Cybercab - Fox Business (Sophia Compton), February 19, 2026.
- ^Musk launches steering-wheel-free taxi service in bet riders lose 'no control' fears and hop inside - Associated Press (via ABC News), September 3, 2026.
- ^SB 2807 bill history, 89th Legislature, Regular Session - Texas Legislature Online, signed by the Governor June 20, 2025.
- ^Tesla plans new Austin charging site as Cybercab launch nears - Austin American-Statesman (Andrea Guzmán), August 19, 2026.
Improve this article
Add missing citations, update stale details, or suggest a clearer explanation. Every suggestion is reviewed for sourcing before it goes live.
v1 · 6,784 words · full history
Fact-checks are independent of edits: a reviewer re-verifies the article against its sources and stamps the date. How we verify
Research and drafting on this wiki are AI-assisted, under named human editorial standards. How AI is used here
Reviewer note: Independent verification (cluster C) against NHTSA's AQ26002 resume, Federal Register, Texas Legislature Online, Tesla decks, CNBC, Reuters and the Statesman; Texas bill date and five attributions fixed
Cite this page: AI Wiki. "Tesla Cybercab." aiwiki.ai, updated 4 Sept 2026, fact-checked 4 Sept 2026. CC BY 4.0. https://aiwiki.ai/wiki/tesla_cybercab